Contents of blog copyright Book Dragon's Lair 2009-2023
I've been gone a while. I started reading fanfiction to escape and I got sucked in an abyss.

I have no idea if someone else is hosting similar challenges. I just grabbed some of what I have hosted before.

Here's to a happy year of great reading
Jan2023: Not much has changed. Writing a fanfiction now O_o as well as reading but I bought 7 new books in December and hope to get those read soon. Crossing fingers about adding challenges (late!)

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Pre-Release Spotlight On . . . What the Duke Desires

What the Duke Desires
Duke's Men book #1
Sabrina Jeffries
Pocket Books
on sale: June 18, 2013
416 pages
Mass Market Paperback, ebook, audio

Romance, Regency era
source: Nancy Berland Public Relations, Inc.
author's website

Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons, accepted long ago that his kidnapped brother was dead. When a cryptic note from investigator Tristan Bonnaud claims otherwise, Max seeks out Tristan’s sister, Lisette—and is infuriated to learn that Tristan has also mysteriously vanished. Have the siblings perpetrated an elaborate hoax? Or is the fiercely protective beauty as innocent as she claims them to be?

Fearful that the powerful duke will destroy Tristan’s career in his zeal for the truth, the clever Lisette convinces Max to accompany her to Paris in a joint search for their loved ones. But their journey takes a seductive twist when they pose as an ordinary husband and wife—not an English duke with a tarnished family name, and the illegitimate daughter of a viscount—and discover an exhilarating passion free from the damning secrets of the past. With the line between danger and desire blurred, they discover that some mysteries, like those of the heart, are answered tenfold in the blissfulness of a true and trusting love.


Ms. Jeffries has written the series "The Hellions of Halstead Hall" which stars a leftover hero from the "Heiress" series.  The "Duke's Men" books are a series in the sense that they are set in a shared world and some characters make appearances in later books. They can, however, easily be standalones. Feel free to jump in wherever you like. The book that bridges the two series is "Twas the Night After Christmas" (reviewed). Ms. Jeffries has written over two dozen books under three different names. Looks like I better get busy.

I've got this one next to my reading chair but needed to tell you about it now.

Happy Reading

About the Author (taken from her website):
Raised amidst the rubber plantations in Thailand with missionary parents, afforded Sabrina endless hours to read Jane Austen novels and other classics voraciously. Not surprisingly, back in the States, she went on to earn a doctorate in English literature from Tulane University—and a craving for Cajun food...While Sabrina treks through remote locales in the name of research and rubs elbows in the big cities with other industry professionals, she says her favorite destination is home. She lives in Cary, North Carolina, with her two best guys—husband, Rene, and adult son, Nick, who has inspired her to actively champion the cause of autistic children. (Nick's story)

This title is available for pre-order at Barnes and Noble, amazon, and as always, please check your favorite bookstore.

copyright Book Dragon's Lair 2009-2013

No comments:


In accordance to the FTC guidelines, I must state that I make no monetary gains from my reviews or endorsements here on Book Dragon's Lair. All books I review are either borrowed, purchased by me, given as a gift, won in some kind of contest, or received in exchange for an honest review.